Speaking Welsh while kayaking in Sweden | If SSIW is helping you, why not help us? Get DAILY lessons: Become an SSIW Member!

Tell us about the fun you've had trying to use your Welsh...:-)

Speaking Welsh while kayaking in Sweden

Postby learner66 » Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:21 pm

After a long time away from listening to the lessons online (my own fault, I should have kept up with them), I started them again and reached the bonus lesson 6. I am an Outdoor Education instructor and my reason for getting back into them was because I was taking a group of twelve 16-17 year olds and three teachers, from a Welsh medium high school, to Sweden for a week of sea-kayaking at the beginning of the Summer holidays. I knew that it would be a great opportunity for me to practice speaking Welsh with people who would hopefully be kind and helpful rather than judging my mistakes. How right I was! We had a great time and both students and staff alike were very supportive of my faltering attempts at conversing with them in Welsh. My vocab increased, my confidence improved and and I kept on firing questions at them to try to learn more. With twelve students I could ask the same question over and over again and get different answers from each one which I had to try to understand. Two of the girls in particular were very tolerant and patient and politely corrected mistakes or suggested alternative ways of saying something. On the flight home I wrote a very short 'speech' to say when we got back to their school. I checked it through with the girls before we landed and to my surprise there were very few mistakes, which were spelling rather than grammatical. After a long drive back my 'speech' went like this...
"Roeddwn i wedi cael amser da iawn yn gwethio gyda chi, a roeddwn i wir wedi mwynhau ymarfer siarad Cymraeg gyda chi. Diolch yn fawr iawn pawb."
...to which I'm pleased to say I got a round of applause!