Harping on in Welsh | If SSIW is helping you, why not help us? Get DAILY lessons: Become an SSIW Member!

Tell us about the fun you've had trying to use your Welsh...:-)

Harping on in Welsh

Postby tehuti » Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:47 pm

I started learning the harp last December. I'm incredibly lucky because Meinir Heulyn agreed to teach me, even though I am an untalented elderly beginner.

Meinir is a native Welsh speaker, originally from Ceredigion.

Well, today, still high from the April Bootcamp experience, I dared to request to have my harp lesson in Welsh with her, for the first time ever.

I'm still alive :wow:

Meinir is a strict teacher, very hot on technique and while being a lovely and kind lady, does not hand out praise on a plate all the time. Today was my first lesson for 3 weeks due to holidays and I was terrified I'd lost a lot of technique.

Hearing her say "ardderchog" was extra special, all the more so, because she said it in Welsh :D
tehuti

Re: Harping on in Welsh

Postby SJ » Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:01 pm

tehuti wrote:I started learning the harp last December. I'm incredibly lucky because Meinir Heulyn agreed to teach me, even though I am an untalented elderly beginner.

Meinir is a native Welsh speaker, originally from Ceredigion.

Well, today, still high from the April Bootcamp experience, I dared to request to have my harp lesson in Welsh with her, for the first time ever.

I'm still alive :wow:

Meinir is a strict teacher, very hot on technique and while being a lovely and kind lady, does not hand out praise on a plate all the time. Today was my first lesson for 3 weeks due to holidays and I was terrified I'd lost a lot of technique.

Hearing her say "ardderchog" was extra special, all the more so, because she said it in Welsh :D