Going native in my home town! | If SSIW is helping you, why not help us? Get DAILY lessons: Become an SSIW Member!

Tell us about the fun you've had trying to use your Welsh...:-)

Going native in my home town!

Postby crystaltipps65 » Wed May 25, 2011 12:26 am

I went back to my home town Of Burry Port today to see my mum, which I do often enough but usually just to her house, take the dog for a walk along desolate beaches then head back to Swansea. that's what I have been doing for over twenty years.

After leaving my mum this evening I took a detour down Stepney Road, parked the car and faced 'the George'.
I found out about the Burry Port Welsh conversation group on SSiW calender sometime ago but never had the nerve to go. Today though was now or never. I had no idea what to expect, I was very nervous but my 'awyddus' to speak welsh pushed aside all my inhibitions, Well maybe not all of them!

I walked into a busy bar, searched the bar in hope of finding some welsh conversationalists huddled in a corner. Then I saw a welsh dictionary and a welsh song book on a table amongst a large group, I suspected this was it. A woman came up to me (she appeared to be in charge) and I tentatively asked 'is this the welsh conversation group, can I join in? achos Dw i'n dysgu siarad Cymraeg.' She spoke to me in welsh and amazingly, I understood what she said and I answered in welsh (falteringly). She said of course you can, what's your name, where do you live, where do you come from and when did you start learning welsh.

I got my drink and was thrust into the group, where I was totally engaged for the rest of the evening with a friendly, helpful, enthused bunch of people. I spoke welsh, understood welsh, learnt more and helped others who knew less welsh than I did. And we sang Calon Lan!

I thought this was going to be welsh of the nervous kind but it was more like coming home.

Da iawn Porth Tywyn Sgwrs Cymraeg grŵp! :clap:

Tricia
On lesson 20 course 2 - south